User Rating: 0 / 5

Star inactiveStar inactiveStar inactiveStar inactiveStar inactive
 
Guide to the 30 best online dictionaries, thesauri, and definition aggregators. Listings are judged by authority, coverage, usability, and utility.     Abbreviations.com Directory and search engine for acronyms and abbreviations. abbreviations.com - Acronyms - Also see: Definitions.net Acronym Finder Dictionary of acronyms and abbreviations. Contains over 750,000 definitions. www.acronymfinder.com - Acronyms Answers.com Aggregator of definitions, encyclopedia entries, and language translations. reference.answers.com - Aggregator Cambridge Search multiple dictionaries from Cambridge University Press. dictionary.cambridge.org Computer Definitions Featuring 20,000 topics and 2,500 images. Search field at bottom of page. www.computerlanguage.com - Computers Confusing Words Collection of more than 3,200 often-troublesome words. www.confusingwords.com - Dictionary Definitions.net Multilingual dictionary that provides definitions and translations. definitions.net - Aggregator - Also see: Synonyms.net Dictionary.com Includes definitions from American Heritage, Random House, and Merriam-Webster. dictionary.reference.com - Aggregator - Also see: Thesaurus.com Investor Words Financial glossary with a comprehensive index of 7,500 definitions. www.investorwords.com - Financial Law.com Dictionary Concise, easy-to-read definitions from The People's Law Dictionary. dictionary.law.com - Legal Macmillan British English and American English dictionaries. www.macmillandictionary.com - Dictionary MarketingPower Dictionary 4,000 cross-referenced definitions of marketing terms. www.marketingpower.com - Marketing Mathworld Dictionary Source of mathematical definitions and concept explanations. mathworld.wolfram.com - Math Med Terms Easy-to-understand explanations of more than 16,000 medical terms. www.medterms.com - Medical Medi Lexicon Search over 200,000 medical terms, ICD-9 codes, hospitals, and more. www.medilexicon.com - Medical Merriam Webster Based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. www.m-w.com - Dictionary Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary 6,000 full-color images; 20,000 terms with contextual definitions. visual.merriam-webster.com - Dictionary Net Lingo Definitions for thousands of terms in the field of technology and communication. www.netlingo.com - Technology OneLook Meta-search tool indexing 13 million words from 1,000 dictionaries. www.onelook.com - Also see: OneLook Reverse Dictionary Oxford Compact Oxford's Compact English Dictionary contains 145,000 words and definitions. www.askoxford.com - Dictionary Roget's Thesaurus Over 17,000 entries. Find synonyms, antonyms, and brief definitions. thesaurus.reference.com - Thesaurus The Free Dictionary General and subject dictionaries for financial, legal, and medical terms. www.thefreedictionary.com Urban Dictionary Dictionary of contemporary American slang. Not appropriate for children. www.urbandictionary.com - Slang Visual Thesaurus Displays a unique visualization of connections between words. www.visualthesaurus.com - Thesaurus WebMD Medical Dictionary Thousands of medical entries from abdomen to zygote. dictionary.webmd.com - Medical Webopedia Dictionary for computer and Internet terms. www.webopedia.com - Technology Wiktionary Multilingual dictionary and thesaurus written and edited by the public. en.wiktionary.org - Dictionary Word Spy Blog tracking new words and phrases in popular use. www.wordspy.com Wordnik Aggregator of definitions, images, and word usage statistics. www.wordnik.com - Aggregator YourDictionary Definitions, thesaurus entries, spelling, pronunciation, and etymology results. www.yourdictionary.com - Aggregator word tools Crossword Dictionary Find answers to crossword puzzles, anagrams and cryptograms. www.oneacross.com - Crosswords Internet Anagram Server Remarkable, robust anagram lookup service from Wordsmith. wordsmith.org/anagram - Anagrams RhymeZone Writing tool for poetry, song lyrics, greeting cards, and more. www.rhymezone.com - Rhymes WordCount Artistic experiment that presents 86,800 English words, ranked in order of frequency. www.wordcount.org Wordle Java-based word cloud generator. Customizable fonts, layouts, and color schemes. www.wordle.com - Collages Write Rhymes Simple online notepad with rhyme suggestions for poets. www.writerhymes.com - Rhymes